Drop Shadow Drop Shadow

And the Newbery Goes to…


In the world of children’s literature, there is no higher honor than the Newbery Medal. Awarded annually by the American Library Association to the author of the year’s “most distinguished contribution to American literature for children,” the prize virtually guarantees a significant boost to both its recipient’s acclaim and his or her book sales.


Last week, Kate DiCamillo joined an elite group of two-time medal winners when she received the Newbery for her wonderful book, Flora & Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures. She previously won the medal for her 2003 novel, The Tale of Despereaux.

Only five other authors have won the prize twice: Joseph Krumgold (…And Now Miguel; Onion John), Elizabeth George Speare (The Witch of Blackbird Pond; The Bronze Bow), Katherine Paterson (The Bridge to Terabithia; Jacob Have I Loved), E.L. Konigsburg (From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler; The View from Saturday) and Lois Lowry (Number the Stars; The Giver.)

At Walden Media, we have fond ties to many Newbery Medal and Newbery Honor books, having proudly adapted quite a few of them for the screen. Our list of Newbery adaptations includes DiCamillo’s 2001 Newbery Honor book Because of Winn-Dixie, A.A. Milne’s Charlotte’s Web, Louis Sachar’s Holes, Carl Hiaasen’s Hoot and Christopher Paul Curtis’ The Watsons Go to Birmingham – 1963, among others.  Our upcoming film The Giver is based on the book that earned Lowry the Newbery Medal in 1994, and we couldn’t be more excited to bring it to theaters this August.

[Click here to read Lois Lowry’s Newbery acceptance speech for The Giver.]

We offer our heartiest congratulations to Kate DiCamillo on her well-deserved honor, and our gratitude to all the storytellers who create new worlds for our minds to explore.